Colleges in Rhode Island

Rhode Island has 14 degree-granting colleges and universities in the federal directory: 3 public and 11 private nonprofit. Together they enroll about 61,000 undergraduates. Largest by enrollment: University of Rhode Island, with 13,381. They're listed A to Z: the Almanac doesn't rank colleges.

Search and filter these colleges →See them on the map →

CollegeNet price Admit rate Graduation Undergrads
Brown UniversityProvidence · Private nonprofit
$26,9765%96%7,226
Bryant UniversitySmithfield · Private nonprofit
$39,18665%81%3,194
College UnboundProvidence · Private nonprofit
$20,804Not reported33%491
$5,861Not reportedNot reported11,171
Johnson & Wales University, OnlineProvidence · Private nonprofit
$22,07191%0%2,202
Johnson & Wales University, ProvidenceProvidence · Private nonprofit
$29,95288%49%3,868
New England Institute of TechnologyEast Greenwich · Private nonprofit
$39,33367%55%1,718
Providence CollegeProvidence · Private nonprofit
$49,59451%86%4,229
Rhode Island CollegeProvidence · Public
$10,95992%45%5,049
Rhode Island School of DesignProvidence · Private nonprofit
$50,51319%92%2,084
Roger Williams UniversityBristol · Private nonprofit
$37,64588%67%3,946
Roger Williams University School of LawBristol · Private nonprofit
Not reported88%Not reportedNot reported
Salve Regina UniversityNewport · Private nonprofit
$36,52868%73%2,121
University of Rhode IslandKingston · Public
$22,46972%72%13,381

Source: College Scorecard ↗, released October 15, 2026, and IPEDS ↗. Net price is the average for first-year students who received aid, in the latest year each college reported; admit rate is for students entering in fall 2024; graduation is for 2019 entrants; undergraduates are for fall 2024. A dash means the college didn't report the figure.