Colleges in Montana

Montana has 23 degree-granting colleges and universities in the federal directory: 18 public and 5 private nonprofit. Together they enroll about 36,000 undergraduates. Largest by enrollment: Montana State University, with 14,451. They're listed A to Z: the Almanac doesn't rank colleges.

Search and filter these colleges →See them on the map →

CollegeNet price Admit rate Graduation Undergrads
Aaniiih Nakoda CollegeHarlem · Public
$7,251Not reported34%106
Blackfeet Community CollegeBrowning · Private nonprofit
$10,030Not reported14%286
Carroll CollegeHelena · Private nonprofit
$26,29571%68%1,092
Chief Dull Knife CollegeLame Deer · Public
$7,827Not reportedNot reported183
Dawson Community CollegeGlendive · Public
$7,988Not reportedNot reported189
$9,911Not reportedNot reported1,202
$1,049Not reportedNot reported282
$11,016Not reportedNot reported894
$13,085Not reportedNot reported585
$15,88891%Not reported342
Little Big Horn CollegeCrow Agency · Public
$6,556Not reportedNot reported253
Miles Community CollegeMiles City · Public
$10,635Not reportedNot reported332
Montana Bible CollegeBillings · Private nonprofit
Not reportedNot reportedNot reported24
Montana State UniversityBozeman · Public
$23,10682%59%14,451
$15,630Not reported31%2,626
$14,686Not reported39%761
$17,20591%61%1,480
Rocky Mountain CollegeBillings · Private nonprofit
$21,67970%45%840
$2,049Not reported50%580
Stone Child CollegeBox Elder · Public
$1,864Not reported45%193
The University of MontanaMissoula · Public
$21,30296%49%7,488
$19,481100%46%1,198
University of ProvidenceGreat Falls · Private nonprofit
$21,49250%28%528

Source: College Scorecard ↗, released October 15, 2026, and IPEDS ↗. Net price is the average for first-year students who received aid, in the latest year each college reported; admit rate is for students entering in fall 2024; graduation is for 2019 entrants; undergraduates are for fall 2024. A dash means the college didn't report the figure.