Colleges in Vermont

Vermont has 13 degree-granting colleges and universities in the federal directory: 3 public and 10 private nonprofit. Together they enroll about 28,000 undergraduates. Largest by enrollment: University of Vermont, with 11,743. They're listed A to Z: the Almanac doesn't rank colleges.

Search and filter these colleges →See them on the map →

CollegeNet price Admit rate Graduation Undergrads
Bennington CollegeBennington · Private nonprofit
$31,50745%70%780
Champlain CollegeBurlington · Private nonprofit
$39,61783%61%2,752
Community College of VermontMontpelier · Public
$9,952Not reportedNot reported2,841
Landmark CollegePutney · Private nonprofit
$43,04749%43%455
Middlebury CollegeMiddlebury · Private nonprofit
$32,10211%93%2,738
Norwich UniversityNorthfield · Private nonprofit
$26,67674%61%2,428
Saint Michael's CollegeColchester · Private nonprofit
$29,91585%71%1,092
SIT Graduate InstituteBrattleboro · Private nonprofit
Not reportedNot reportedNot reported0
Sterling CollegeCraftsbury Common · Private nonprofit
$31,38767%33%50
University of VermontBurlington · Public
$20,27765%81%11,743
Vermont College of Fine ArtsMontpelier · Private nonprofit
Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Vermont Law and Graduate SchoolSouth Royalton · Private nonprofit
Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Vermont State UniversityRandolph · Public
$22,35882%41%3,590

Source: College Scorecard ↗, released October 15, 2026, and IPEDS ↗. Net price is the average for first-year students who received aid, in the latest year each college reported; admit rate is for students entering in fall 2024; graduation is for 2019 entrants; undergraduates are for fall 2024. A dash means the college didn't report the figure.